Workers’ Compensation #3

I usually don’t post these in my MySpace blog.  I keep these in my livejournal which is more anonymous and more private.  People can get so worked up if you tell the honest truth.  Gosh, I just don’t know why that is. At any rate, I guess this one isn’t as inflammatory as they have a tendency to be. 

Hilda don’t read my blogs anyway.  :)

It was one of those days at work yesterday and today.

I can’t really go into too much detail but I found this bizarre thing yesterday in someone’s bag. At first glance, I was scared but after this weird explanation, I guess it is what it is. Anyway, I the supervisor and the manager wrote me up for a commendation and an on-the-spot award for it, but like Louis said, “Let’s see if you actually get it.” This place is notorious for saying one thing and doing quite another.  Supposedly, I’m to get a few days off.  That would be nice, since I can’t earn it any other way.

I got into it with Hilda last night. I think she’s getting the same treatment as Duke. They gave him some kind of ultimatum: quit or get fired. I think she’s in that cycle too. She was going on and on about how she had some mediation with the management and how Governor Ehrlich (who isn’t even governor anymore) has signed her bill into law, now. Supposedly 4000 juvenile delinquents have been released into the streets because of this law. “Wrongful imprisonment,” is what she said, but really, if they just released FOUR THOUSAND wayward ass criminal children into the streets on poor unsuspecting Americans, I think it would be all over the news. People would be talking about that. But Hilda lives in her own fantasy land.  There’s no reasoning with her sometimes.

Later that night, Danny, Denise, and I were clowning her on the lane and she heard us. For some reason she thought my name was Wilhelmina (because that is almost identical to my first name.  **Note:  sarcasm) and she started going on about what she was going to do to me. “You’re about to go to jail!” Yeah, because Hilda has arrestable powers. I don’t know where she got that from but Denise was cussing her out, like, “Hilda, shut up.  Hilda, don’t nobody care what you have to say…” Denise doesn’t care and she certainly doesn’t like Hilda. It was funny.

Then today, I got cheated on my chance to help run the floor but whatever. It’s how this place goes. I was looking forward to a day of doing absolutely nothing. I pouted, of course, because that’s what I do. Supposedly, there’s going to be an opening for a part time lead.  I don’t think I’ll get it, but I do try to apply myself and see what I’m capable of.  I’ve been here so damn long, maybe I’ll beat out other applicants on that alone.  I doubt it.  I don’t think I should go to the bank on that one.

It was a snow day. I left for work early because I just don’t like being stressed and rushing. I got here to find out that EIGHT people called out from work today. Gary made the big mistake of telling everyone that it wasn’t a black out day, so I guess everyone thought they’d get a free ride.  We have this policy where if it’s any kind of inclement weather the day is automatically blacked out. If you call out bring a doctor’s note. You know, that sort of thing. So Gary tells everyone, “No black out!” and nobody shows up to work.

Well, the manager came in and overrode what he said. AWOL. Every last one of those suckers, unless you got a doctor’s note. Some of them will be able to come up with doctor’s notes because that’s what we do. We can’t be honest because this place doesn’t allow us that dignity. We have to lie, cheat, and steal to get what’s due us. But for the rest of them, the ones that don’t have connections… Well, I guess they will have to suffer it like everyone else does.  They give them away like candy.  Everyone has one so eventually it becomes no big deal if you get it because everyone else is in the same boat as you.  In fact, it’s probably a rarity to find someone who doesn’t have an AWOL.  I’m sure there are people but that is far less than those that do.

It wasn’t even busy. That was the sad part.  The roads were not too terrible and the crowd was a lot smaller than it usually is on a Sunday.  A nice slow day. Long, but slow. It could have been worse. I suspect tomorrow is going to be hellish. That’s when the real work begins. After a snow day, the next day is usually the hectic day. Making up for all those missed flights.

Maybe I should call out tomorrow

Speak your mind:

