2007 Accomplishments

So I just finished reading my resolutions for 2007. I think I did pretty good, all things considering.

Last year I resolved to:

1. Reduce my debt by one half.

2. Eat better

3. Be more consistent with exercise

4. Fix my self-image

5. Fix my love life.

Let’s see what I accomplished.

Reduce my debt by one half: ACCOMPLISHED

I paid off a huge debt this year thanks to my dad. That is one monkey off my back, but I have a few more to go.

Eat better: ACCOMPLISHED

I stopped drinking gallons of sugary ass juices that did nothing but make me fat. No more fast food, except for maybe as a treat on the weekend. I started eating more vegetables. I even drink V8, the worst drink in the world but once you get used to it, it’s not so bad.

Be more consistent with exercise: ACCOMPLISHED

I get up at 5am every morning to go running in the gym. Some days I am lazy, I admit it, but I make up for it with afternoon sessions of yoga and Tae Kwon Do. I recently got my first belt. I ain’t doing half bad. My goal wasn’t to lose weight this year, but I have lost a little bit of weight, only it doesn’t count since I gained so much in the firstp lace.

Fix my self-image: JURY IS STILL OUT

I don’t think I devoted enough time to this. I don’t feel like a total shit bag, but then again, it’s not how you perceive yourself, sometimes, but what others see in you.

Fix my love life: TOTAL FAILURE

Once again, involved with a piece of emotionless trash. He’s a great guy, the perfect guy to take home to mama, but he has no real depth. I still enjoy spending time with him, I just now realise that he is nothing more than face value. I need more than that. On the plus side, when he dropped the bomb on me, I didn’t resort to hysterics like I have before. I also realised that having a man in my life is not a number one priority and that I’m not lonely just because I don’t have a boyfriend. Too many women revolve their life around a man, forgetting about more important things. I finally realised I was doing that, changing everything to suit some guy. Why? If he is so perfect, we should be revolving around each other.

As far as everything else is concerned, after getting off to a rocky start, 2007 turned out to be a great year for me. I quit TSA, got a job that pays 3 times as much as they were. I moved out of Baltimore, even though I lost my favourite cute apartment. But by making this move, I got rid of the negative energy that seemed to be following me around. I lost some friends, but I also made new ones. I’m halfway to financial independence, and I actually have a few dollars in the bank, something I never had before.

All in all, 2007 was a very good year. Here’s hoping 2008 will be just the same or better.

Speak your mind:

