Soldier of Fortune Part 2

Okay, I did it.

I went to see an active duty recruiter today.  I also talked to my dad.

I am pretty much convinced that I am going active duty, and I can be out of Maryland within the next 3-4 months.  The best part of all, I can go to the language school like I’ve been dying to ever since I joined the army.

Going active duty will mean a SIGNIFICANT pay cut for me, but I’m looking at the bigger picture.  I will spend at least a year at language school, and then I will have to do 3 years active duty at some duty station.  Who knows where.  I am hoping some place overseas.

When I get out, I will have military intelligence AND a language under my belt.  Do you have any idea of the money I can make?  I was looking at jobs today.  People with 5+ years of military analysis and a language are making more than a 100K a year.  In some instances, they are up into the 150s.  Are you insane?

I guess everyone thinks I am crazy, but really, I am just about money.  That is all I care about, and I don’t really care if people think I am money-hungry.  I’m not a gold-digger type because I can’t be bothered with having to put up with a man in order to get the money.  I want my own money, and I am smart enough to get it.  Some people work off their looks.  Some people work off their charm.  I work off my brain. 

Love and all that good stuff is all well and good.  I don’t ever want to be lonely or anything, but I’d rather be well-off than in love.  Money don’t buy you happiness, but it sure is a good time trying.

At any rate, I was looking for adventure and I think I am going to get it.  I hope I get a duty assignment overseas, and I hope God looks out for me.  I know I might have to go to that mess over there, and I sure as hell don’t want to die chasing after a dollar, but I guess I gotta do what I gotta do.

See ya, Maryland.

I’m counting down the days.

Speak your mind:

