Pay It Forward

I got some good luck yesterday, so I have to pay it forward.

I went into Baltimore City for an appointment downton on Lexington Street.  I don’t like going into the city during the day because I hate looking for parking, and Lexington Street is one of those weird areas that parking is not allowed on so many of the cross streets.  After driving around for 15 minutes, I finally found a space in front of the Starbucks on Charles.

This guy was just leaving, and he gave me his parking ticket that still had an hour left on it.  I thought that was nice, most people would have just kept on going.  But at first I didn’t want to take it because I needed more than an hour.  My appointment didn’t start until 1030, and it was 1005.  The ticket was good until 1058.  The shitty part about parking tickets is that if I bought another, it’s not going to extend the time.  I know the city is trying to be all up to date with the parking tickets, but meters are better because you can extend the time, instead of trying to capitalise twice on the same time frame.

At any rate, I decided not to buy another parking ticket.  I go to my appointment, and it started early, so that was a good sign.  But then I got to running my mouth with the lady and before I know it, it was 1120 when I walked out onto the street.

From way, way, down the street I saw one of those city workers that wear the blue and green.  I thought she was writing a ticket, and I was like… Oh well.  I got a ticket.  But no, they don’t write tickets.  The cops do, because as I was coming up the street, I saw two cops making their rounds.  They were looking at all the cars looking for the parking tickets, when they got to my car, they saw it was expired.  The one cop went to the back of my car to get my license plate and I knew she was about to start writing.

I was like half a mile down the street.  I was like, “No, no, I’m here!  I’m here!”  I started yelling.  I don’t think she heard me at first.  I was like, “Noooooooooo!!!”  Everybody on the street was staring at me.  Then I started running.  Just to let you know, in case you didn’t already, it’s so not comfortable to sprint in heels.  Then that shit was uphill.  The cop turned around and she started laughing at me.  She said if I can get up there by the time she starts writing.

Don’t you know I became the fastest woman in the world right then.  Carrying bags, a big ass coat, high heels and dress pants, I should have been on the Olympic team.

I even ran into traffick and almost caused an accident.  The cars had the right of way, but I wasn’t really paying attention, I just ran into the street and everybody was honking.  The cops were staring at me like I was crazy.  She wasn’t even writing.

The two cops were laughing when I got up there.  I was mad out of breath.  “I was like, please, please… ”  She was like, “Oh my God, I can’t believe you ran up that hill like that.”

I was trying to explain that my appointment ran longer than expected, but I was so out of breath.  Then she looked at my shoes.  She was like, “You ran in those?”  Yeah.  I don’t want no ticket!

Then she said, “I’m not going to write a ticket.  I never seen anybody run in some shoes like that before.”  Her and the other cop was dying laughing, and then the girl in the blue and green uniform was like, “I thought somebody was chasing you the way you were running.”

See, that’s good luck.  First, I got a free parking ticket and then I amused the cop so much that she didn’t write a ticket.  Usually, with my kind of luck, I would have had to pay a couple dollars for a parking ticket, then I still would have come out to find a $30 ticket for being seven seconds late.  That’s usually my story.

But not this time.  I got to pay it forward.  What goes around always comes back around.

Speak your mind:

