Scribbling From the Dark

Well, I am sitting here totally in the dark because for some strange reason unbeknownst to me, there is no power to the entire neighbourhood.

When I left for work this morning at 6 everything was perfectly normal, as everything should be when the world is still drowsy, that hour before dawn when everything is darkest and coldest. At 230 I return and I find the back porch steeped in water because it had been raining like Noah’s Ark 2: The vengeance. I hardly give this any thought because I am not the groundskeeper. I just want to make sure I do not track any sludge into the house.

I open the door and I am greeted by eerie silence. I hate the creepiness of dark silence. One begins to imagine all sorts of terrible things, images of things that go bump in the night.

Sometimes the power trips itself but is easily reset. However a closer inspection let me know the power is out due to an outside source. I then remember seeing the BGE guys on the corner. What have they done now? Don’t they realise how cold it is? How hungry I am and they are fiddling with the wires.

I contemplated earlier walking to the Amish market to fetch these pies–yes, I said walk. Did I mention I have no car? Well, that’s a story for another day. At any rate my sister wants these pies and the only way to get them is to walk. I figured since the power is out anyway I might as well do something useful rather than sitting in the dark as I am now doing.

It doesn’t take me an hour to make the four mile trip. I’m a keen walker and four miles is mere childs play to me. I return home, pies in hand, to continued darkness. How annoying.

I tweeter for awhile but this is not an activity meant for endless entertainment. I play with facebook but the iphone’s limited features are a tease. I remembered I downloaded the wordpress app and so here I am.

I do hope the pitiful battery of the iPhone doesn’t die before the power is restored. There will be nothing else for me to do but sit here in the fading light. The house is overpowered by the scent of hazlenut and vanilla. I only have aromatherapy candles. Nothing useful like a menorah or a medieval candelabra.

My fingers are a bit numb from this touch screen. Or perhaps it is the bitter cold. Does it really matter? My stomach just rumbled. It sounded like the thunder of an approaching storm. I had intended to cook dinner as soon as I got home but apparently I wasn’t meant to eat.

———–

I just found this in my saved drafts. I never did finish because I walked up the street to the Chinese buffet. How random.

Speak your mind:

