Senseless Scribbling of an Idiot #51: Ode to My iPod

Unless you’ve been under a rock the past 24 hours, you know by now that Steve Jobs has lost his battle with pancreatic cancer.  Normally when famous people die, I just say to myself, “Oh, that’s sad and move on with my life.”  (The only exception, of course, was Michael Jackson, in which I lay in a ball of despair for 72 hours, but that’s another story…).  Most of the time some famous person dying doesn’t really affect my life and I really don’t care.  I know that sounds callous, but it is what it is.

Steve Jobs dying doesn’t really affect my life but for whatever reason I find myself thinking about it more than I have any other famous person.  I guess you can call me an Apple fangrrl.  Yes, I have an iPod and an iPhone and if I thought I really needed it, I would also have a Macbook and an iPad.  The only reason I don’t have those two items is because I am a person who does not buy things I don’t need, and trust me, I’ve been trying to justify purchasing both for a long time.  At any rate, there’s been questions about which Apple product has been the most innovative of Jobs’ career.  I don’t even know how to begin to answer that but I will tell you that I never go anywhere without my iPod.  When they first came out, I couldn’t afford one and I kinda didn’t see the need to own one.  Sure, it was cool looking but my Discman worked just fine.  It wasn’t until cars started coming with the aux port and you could plug in your iPod and listen to your music in the cdar did I even see how cool the whole thing was.

I would no longer have to lug a book of CDs around with me everywhere I went, driving dangerously with my knee balancing the wheel while I flipped through the book looking for the CD I wanted, only to discover that it was either back in the house or badly scratched and unplayable.   Then some junkie broke into my car and stole all the CDs I had.  I was already a downloading music junkie (I grew up in the days of Napster), so I started burning a whole bunch of CDs but I realised this is so lame.  Drunk John bought me an iPod for Valentine’s Day and that was all she wrote.  Yeah, it sounds so lame but I felt like I was part of the ‘in-crowd’ because I had a pair of white headphones just like everybody else.  When I went to AIT, someone stole my iPod Nano, and the military reimbursed me enough money so I could buy an iPod Classic, only back then I don’t think it was the classic quite yet.  At any rate, that thing had 60GB, which was …. outrageous and I worked my hardest to fill it up with my extensive music collection.  Anybody that knows me knows that I have a very eccentric music taste ranging from death metal to opera and everything in between. 

Sixty gigabytes later, I need a new iPod.  Thankfully, I had an excuse to buy a new one because the old one started acting funny.  I bought a new classic:  120 gigabytes and I am in heaven.  I read somewhere that they might phase out the classic.  I hope they don’t because I love it more than the iPod Touch. 

I can’t even think of how I dealt with music before this.  All the new music I have discovered because I now have the space to store it.  I can listen to an album without fear that I’ve spent my money and wasted it.  I can trade music with friends and discover something new.  And the damn iTunes… what?  No, I don’t buy the music (sorry, guys) but the program is just really so helpful.  What was my life like before that?

I didn’t jump on the iPhone bandwagon until they put out the iPhone 3GS.  I bought the 3G just to test it out.  I now will never own another type of phone ever again.  I am obsessed.  I still have the 3G because I know how these technology people try to get you.  They put out something fancier year after year, making you salivate so much that you just have to have it.  I waited for the iPhone 4 but it just wasn’t enough to make me bite.  I might get the iPhone 4S, but since I’m about to leave for a little while I might hang on just a bit longer so I can get the iPhone 5 that will surely be ready for me to purchase by the time I get back.

I know there are so many Apple haters but the truth is they are good products.  They have revolutionised so many things.  Even if you hate Apple, you have an Android or some other smart phone that is trying its best to imitate an Apple product. So, when it all comes down to it, you’re an Apple fan but you just can’t admit it. 

I’m sorry this man had to leave this earth early.  I hope that he did not suffer.  I hope that he is proud of what he has accomplished.  A hundred years from now, it is possible that Apple will go the way of the Atari, but people will still remember it because the products were new and innovative and opened the door for other innovation. 

The crazy thing is that if I didn’t have an iPhone then I would not have known that Steve Jobs had died.  As President Obama remarked, most of us learned of this man’s death on the product that he invented.  That’s just awesome.

Mr. Jobs, I am at this very moment texting my sister on my iPhone and I’ve got my iPod in my pocket.  The very next song is “Please Don’t Stop the Music” by Rihanna.  That may not have much to do with anything, but this song is for you, all the same.

Speak your mind:

