Operation: WTF (Day 213)

Formation

Now serving a totally delicious meal, but not at your DFAC.

Today was a good day, and a most productive day, if I might add.  It is my day off, and I usually get more work done when there isn’t work in the way.  Hahaha.  Because of the formation, I actually made it out of bed to get breakfast.  I do not know why I bothered, there was nothing new to be had.  I’m not sure why I expected them to have a Belgian waffle bar with cinnamon-infused 100% grade A dark amber pure Vermont maple syrup.

Even if I have to rip it off someone's shirt with my bare hands, I'm getting one of these before I leave here.

The formation was actually rather entertaining.  First, many soldiers were recognised for their achievements.  There were quite a number of medals, badges and certificates handed out.  I am very pleased to see so many PT badges.  I am trying hard to achieve my own.  My PSG has set the standard and I have challenged her to a duel.  Oh, I doubt that I can max her score, but it is fun to try and it is giving me purpose to get up and go to the gym when technically, I do not have to.  It is amazingly easy to just lay in my bed and do absolutely nothing all day long except stuff my face on these outrageously decadent Irish chocolates a friend of mine has brought to me.

Just toss all military equipment into fire and let's get the hell out of here.

The Commander thanked us all for our achievements and obliged us to continue to strive for the highest standards.  I think this is all well and good, but when she started talking about packing up, boy, you have no idea how excited I got.  Oh, we have some months to go, but when you start packing things up that is the beginning of the end.  She stated that she was beginning the usual round of meetings and briefings about the proper way to clear the base.  I was so pumped that I wanted to break formation and begin the process immediately.  I know she wants to do things the proper way, but I wonder why we cannot simply just set everything on fire and have done with it?  It would meet her intent of not leaving anything behind as other units do.  If we just set ablaze everything that is not important, that would cut the time down in half and we can just roll out.  I will pass my suggestion up the chain.  I am sure she will see how easy it is when you have nothing but ashes to clear.  I will let you know how that works out.

Afterward, I went to the music room to practise.  It really is quite atrocious, and I don’t mean that to be modest at all.  I suck.  I taught myself to play the first page of Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata, but I am having trouble making it sound like how he played it.  You can kinda tell what it’s supposed to be, but it’s a horror.  My piano teacher will have her work cut out for her when I return.  Everything she ever taught me has been derailed.

They have requested volunteers for a particular detail.  You have no idea how much I would love it, but after some analysis (that is what I do), I do not think I will be chosen just for practical purposes.  Sometimes that is just how things are, but still, it sucks.  I do have R&R to look forward to:  41 days, but who’s counting?

Somewhere = wherever Sam is not.

I am also pleased to announce that I am 49 miles from receiving my first T-shirt from the Cardio Club.  You get one for every 250 miles you achieve.  I figure at this rate, I should get my 250 shirt by mid-April.  I am unsure if I can get the 750 shirt before I leave.  That is an awful lot of mileage to put in.  That is an average of more than 30 miles a week, which I normally do but sometimes things get in the way, like the EST 2000 (UGH, really??).  Besides we’ll be packing and I musn’t let anything get in the way of that.  Priority number 1:  GET THE FUCK OUT OF HERE.

I can run at home and make my own damn T-shirt.

Speak your mind:

