Operation: WTF (Day 315)

Seventh Inning Stretch

Step into the light, Carol Ann.

So, apparently, I’m inside the final 30 days before I can be liberated from this sand pit.  I don’t know precisely how accurate that is, so I wouldn’t go making any plans based off this information.  Remember I mentioned in a previous post that there was a board up at work where someone was doing a countdown.  There were a couple of boards, so I just averaged them all together and came up with this number.  Nobody has really said anything; there’s been no official announcement, but I guess this is as good a place as any to say we’re almost done, plus or minus five days.

Out of anything this is the absolute worst.  When you first get here, there’s really nothing you can do but go to work.  Now that you can actually see the light at the end of the tunnel, your mind starts playing all kinds of tricks on you.  You think to yourself, “Why should I do anything?  Why should I care?”  Of course, we can still get into trouble if we take act on that attitude, but you can’t help what your mind conjures up.

Is there where I go for detox?

This is gonna be the time where we’re going to have to knuckle down and just power through the bullshit.  Some folks got the idea that we need to start ramping things up, even as we’re heading out the door.  It’s nothing I can do about that.  I just need to keep focused and save all my strength on dealing with the BS, rather than trying to fight it.  You just make yourself go crazy like that, because nothing you say or do even matters.  Nobody even cares.

So, by my not-so-scientific-or-official calculation, we have approximately 28 days left.  I think there was a movie about that, two movies actually.  One was about zombies taking over the world in 28 days, and the other one was about a 28 day rehab stint.  Zombies.  Rehab.  Whatever.

Speak your mind:

