Operation: GTFO (Day 23)

Disclaimer:  This is not an accusation.  This is not directed at any particular person.  In today’s SHARP climate I don’t find sexual harassment or sexual assault to be a joke, and neither do I find it amusing to fling accusations at someone who did not do anything.  This is all very general and nothing inappropriate has happened.

The Devil You Know

We're not even 30 days in and these dudes are already dehydrated.

We’re not even 30 days in and these dudes are already dehydrated.

You know what happens during these things:  people get thrown together so much they feel like they are attracted to each other and they start forming attachments and liaisons.  These romances are never real and when you get back to the world, you discover everything that attracted you to him in the first place are the very things that annoy the shit out of you.

I was never so desperate and lonely that I tried to seek out a deployment husband; rather, I avoided everyone like the plague so that no one could get the wrong idea about me.  I wouldn’t make eye contact with anyone.  I wouldn’t laugh at anyone’s jokes.  I did not want to seem flirty at all.  I just made it clear that I was not interested.  

Unfortunately, some people did not get the message.  I still had two Creepy McCreepersons in my face.  This is the thing about harassment.  You got those perves that are utterly blatant about their predilections.  Then you got the undercover creepers, the ones that are real sneaky about who they really are.  These dudes aren’t going to jump out at you in a dark alley.  They show up at your barracks door and act like you’re the one that invited them there because you happened to look at them on your way to the copier.

When you have to avoid the guy from S2, the two dudes from Supply, the chick from S1 and everyone from the Maintenance Platoon.

When you have to avoid the guy from S2, the two dudes from Supply, the chick from S1 and everyone from the Maintenance Platoon.

I received a gift from one Creepy McCreeperson and I was completely skeeved.  The item was small and unsuspecting, less than $5.00.  A person on the outside wouldn’t see the big deal, but that’s how these jerk-offs operate.  They make it seem like you’re the one with the problem.  “When I saw it, I thought of you.  No big deal.  It’s not that serious.”  Now everyone is looking at you like you’re seeing rapists around every corner.

I think I have picked up a creeper… already!  Usually, people don’t start getting thirsty until a few months in.  These dudes are damn near dehydrated, and it isn’t just the males.  Seriously, don’t ever believe that men are the only ones that can’t control their hormones.  The ladies too.  Especially these young ones, hot in the ass.

If I could walk around like this for the entire deployment, even in uniform, I think I might be able to survive.

If I could walk around like this for the entire deployment, even in uniform, I think I might be able to survive.

Other females have reported potential creepers.  And let me be clear, I’m not here trying to point anybody out, because on its face, nothing inappropriate has happened.  It’s not like that.  It’s far more subtle.  These individuals are making themselves visible.  What do I mean by that?  You go down to the day room to heat up a frozen pizza… he’s there with a Hungry Man.  You’re headed out for a run and he just so happens to be on his way for a run too.  You’re sitting by yourself in the chow hall, enjoying an all-purpose patty, here he comes, “Can I join you?”  

These guys are not rapists.  They’re not trying to sexually assault you.  They just want to let you know as soon as you’re ready, they’re ready.  Just name the time and the place and he’s gonna be there with a triple pack of Magnums.  

Time to take evasive action.

Speak your mind:

